Upload your portfolio today. Register here

Adding color to greyscale pic - first time

Last post 02-24-2012, 7:38 PM by Digital Dave. 6 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  02-24-2012, 1:10 AM 375130

Adding color to greyscale pic - first time

Attachment: Color2greyscale.jpg

Hey all,

I'm presently working on a pic where I worked it up in greyscale first, & think I'm about ready to start applying color. Since this is my first time working in this manner, I've been doing some research on proper techniques, or advices, on how to add color without taking away from the greyscale version. ... From what I've read thus far, there seems to be a few ways to do this, but the most common way is to use a layer set to color. (says it doesn't affect the values that have already been placed in. But there are a few things that it doesn't address) the first being what is the best brush to use for applying color? ... (Now this is just my personal thoughts here, and I may be wrong?) But I would think that since the values & textures have already been added in while working in greyscale, would it therefore be correct to assume that the airbrush would be best for this? My thinking is that unless you are trying to add additional texture, that you are basically just adding colors to the existing pic. I would also assume that working with the airbrush (with it's soft edges) would allow you to place the color down in layers, using a low opacity, and building it up slowly? Am I correct in my thinking, or am I missing something?